Press Club Of Sikkim honour three Journalist on 21st Foundation Day

Press Club of Sikkim 21 foundation day

The Senior Journalist from Sikkim Shri Rajendra Pradhan has been conferred with the ’17th Kanchenjunga Kalam Puraskar 2023′, on the occasion of the 21st Press Club of Sikkim foundation ceremony held at Manan Kendra, here today.

Similarly, the Laganshil Yuva Patrakar Puraskar 2023 was awarded to journalist young Journalist Isabella Gurung of Sikkim Express. PCS also felicitated Varishtha Patrakar Samman 2023 to veteran journalist Radha Pradhan.

The award was presented by the hand of Arun Upreti, Speaker SLA in the presence of Power Minister, Shri M.N. Sherpa, as guest of honour. Other dignitaries, journalists from Sikkim, Darjeeling, Kalimpong and other invited guests.

Press Club of Sikkim also honoured two “UNSUNG HERO” Shri Mahendra Dhakal in recognition of his tireless efforts to promote chess in Sikkim and environmentalist and Smt Priyadarshinee Shreshtra in recognition of her tireless efforts towards ‘zero waste Himalaya’, reducing plastic pollution and environment protection.

Chief Minister of Sikkim who was on official tours to Delhi and Uttarakhand could not attend as Chief Guest of the event, instead Shri Upreti reiterated the Chief Minister’s acknowledgement of the Press fraternity’s role in State building.

In honour of the 21st formation day of the Press Club, the State government made some key announcements:

  1. Allotment order for the Press Club Bhawan at MP Golai, Tadong was issued. This has been a long long pending demand of the press fraternity.
  2. One ‘Traveller’ vehicle as logistical support to the Press Club was handed over.
  3. The Annual cash awards to journalists excelling in various fields have been enhanced.
    Apart from these, the State government has been extending all possible medical support to members and member families of the Press Club of Sikkim.
    Also, exposure trips and various other skill enhancement programmes are also being envisioned by the State government.

The event also had Advisor, IPR Department, Shri Birendra Tamling, Advisor IT Department, Shri Tenzing Norbu Lamtha, Chairperson, Film Board, Smt. Pooja Sharma, Press Advisor to HCM, Shri C.P. Sharma, IPR Secretary, Ms Namrata Thapa, Secretary Tourism, Shri. Prakash Chettri as the resource person.

A cultural event by the members of PCS also followed during the celebration with dance and poem recites.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.